Dedicated experts with a proven record of success.


The Key Peeps

Each day when the doors open for patrons, ACHS has a team of staff and volunteers to help with research, programming, and exploring the exhibits.


Rebecca Ebnet-Desens

Carol Dordan

Sara Given

Audra Hilse

Don Johnson

Karen Rieks 

Senior Service America
Jan Bergstrom

Cindy McKinney

Sandy Conner

Gloria Given

Laura Hilse

Jane LaMusga 


Behind the Scenes

Not every face at ACHS greets you at the door. So many of our dedicated volunteers work in the collections archive, at home, or on office duties behind the scenes.


Roseanne Betley

Gloria Given
Organizer Extraordinaire

Laura Hilse

Alesha Danhouser

Genealogical Society

Mary Nolan
Textile rehousing

Alison Marzolf
Headline Hunter

Rich Oxley
IT & Video production

Paul Pierce III
Building Maintenance

Joe Scholz
Collections Photos

Gail Schrooten

Deborah Shepherd
History Booklets

Dave VenHuizen
Photo Scanning

Chuck Zielin
Clocks and watches


Board of Directors

Committing to serve on the Board for ACHS means creating a strategic plan, overseeing the financials, fundraising, and acting as ambassador for the stories of Anoka County.

The membership elects the Board of Directors from a ballot prior to the annual meeting, held each March. Directors must be members in good standing, can self-nominate, and serve for a three year term after election.


Dennis Berg
President, At Large B

Lotus Hubbard
Vice President, Dist 4

Steve Florman
Treasurer, At Large G

Allison Schmitt
Secretary, At Large A

Mike Scott
At Large C

Johannes Allert
At Large D

Mary Nolan
At Large E

Paul Pierce III
At Large F

Jim Rootes
At Large H

Al Pearson
District 1

Kim Hogdahl
District 2

Orville Lindquist
District 3

Lotus Hubbard
District 4

Rich Oxley
District 5

Dave Bartholomay
District 6

Bart Ward
District 7